[From CASE Reports, Vol. 12, No. 1, 1997]


The Following Individuals Were Elected to the Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering in 1996

Gerard N. Burrow

Professor, Department of Internal Medicine and Dean, Yale University School of Medicine. Professor Burrow is a Fellow of the American College of Physicians and the American Association for the Advancement of Science. He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and the Institute of Medicine, and served as president of the American Thyroid Association in 1986; he was awarded that organization's Distinguished Service Award in 1993. A member of Sigma Xi, he has served on numerous committees, advisory councils and editorial boards; most recently, he chaired the Institute of Medicine's Department of Defense Persian Gulf Syndrome Committee. Professor Burrow's clinical expertise is in the fields of endocrinology and thyroid disorders.


Thomas T. Chen

Professor of Molecular and Cell Biology and Director, Biotechnology Center, University of Connecticut. Professor Chen is a member of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the American Zoological Society, and the American Society for Molecular Marine Biology and Biotechnology. He is the author of numerous articles and is an associate editor for several scientific journals; he also serves on peer review panels for organizations including the National Science Foundation, the National Institute of Health. Before coming to the University of Connecticut, he was associated with the Center for Marine Biotechnology of the University of Maryland Biotechnology Institute. He is currently a member of the Connecticut Department of Agriculture's Committee on Agricultural Technology. Professor Chen's research interests include molecular endocrinology and development, aquaculture, and biotechnology.


Marion E. Frank

Professor of BioStructure and Function, University of Connecticut and Director, Connecticut Chemosensory Clinical Research Center. Professor Frank is a member of the Society for Neuroscience, the Association for Chemoreception Sciences, the International Society for Neuroethology, and the International Society for Chemical Ecology. She serves on several scientific editorial boards, and is the author of numerous papers and articles. A leader in the study of the science of taste, Professor Frank's research interests include neuroscience, chemosensory systems, and chemosensory disorders.


Mark B. Myers

Senior Vice President, Corporate Research and Technology, Xerox Corporation. Dr. Myers is a member of the American Ceramics Society, the American Physical Society, and the Industrial Research Institute; he is also a founding member of the Materials Research Society. He serves on the boards of the American Electronics Association, SDL Inc., and Xerox of Canada, Ltd. He is also a member of the Board of Engineering Education of the National Academy of Engineering; the Science, Technology and Economc Policy Board of the National Research Council; and the National Research Council's US/Japan Task Force on Engineering Education. The founding director of the Xerox Research Center of Canada, Dr. Myers' professional interests include digital imaging systems and the creation of new technical and business enterprises involving emerging areas of technology.


Bela Prokai

Vice President, Research and Development, Union Carbide Corporation. Dr. Prokai is a member of the American Chemical Society, the Industrial Research Institute, Inc., and Sigma Xi. A recipient of the Award of Technology from the city of Manchester (England), he has authored numerous papers and over 50 US patents. He serves on the Management Committee of Universal Oil Products, Inc., and is a member of the Board of Amerchol Corporation. Dr. Prokai's research interests include catalysis, product and process development of chemicals and plastics, and technology licensing.


Charles M. Radding

Professor of Genetics and Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry, Yale University School of Medicine. Professor Radding is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and the American Society of Biological Chemists. He has served on numerous committees and boards, including the editorial boards of Cell and the Journal of Molecular Biology. He is currently a member of the Advisory Committee on Biological Sciences and the editorial board of the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences. Professor Radding has been a research associate at the National Heart Institute, an American Heart Association Fellow at Stanford University, a National Science Foundation Fellow at the Pasteur Institute in Paris, and a Burroughs Wellcome Fellow at the Imperial Cancer Research Fund in London. His research has focused on the biochemistry of homologous genetic recombination, a field with long-term implications for gene targeting and gene therapy.


Carolyn W. Slayman

Sterling Professor of Genetics and Deputy Dean for Academic and Scientific Affairs, Yale University School of Medicine. Professor Slayman is a member of the Institute of Medicine, the American Society of Biological Chemists, the American Society of Microbiologists, and the Genetics Society of America. She has served on numerous advisory panels and editorial boards, including the Advisory Council of the National Institute of General Medical Sciences, and is currently a member of the Scientific Review Board of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute and the Board of Directors of the Perkin-Elmer Corporation. She is the recipient of the National Institute of General Medical Sciences' MERIT Award. Professor Slayman's research interests lie in the areas of genetics and cell biology.

Back to CASE Reports TOC